01 - God's Word

Presuppositions / Assumptions

1. God Exists

2. God Speaks

God's Word

There are four different "forms" of the Word of God referred to in Scripture:

1.  Jesus Christ (John 1:1; Heb. 1:1-3; Rev. 19:13)

2.  God’s speech (Gen 1:3; Ps 33:6)

3. God’s word in human speech (Dt 18:18-20; Jer 1:9)

4. God’s word in written form, The Bible (Ex 31:18; Dt 31:9-13; Josh 1:8)

The Canon of Scripture

The word "canon" means "standard" or "rule." The canon of Scripture refers to which books belong in the Bible, and which books don’t belong. The books that belong are considered "inspired" (breathed out by God) and are thus the authoritative Word of God.

The Bible consists of 66 books, 39 in the Old Testament and 27 in the New Testament:

  • The Old Testament Canon consists of 39 books: seventeen historical, five poetical, seventeen prophetical.
  • The New Testament Canon consists of 22  books: four gospels, Pauline Epistles, and non-Pauline Epistles.

The Bible

1. The Bible is God's special revelation committed to writing.